Where Southern Soul Began LP

Where Southern Soul Began LP


Side One

  1. Cigarettes & Coffee Al ‘TNT’ Braggs
  2. You’re Gonna Miss Me Shirley Raymond
  3. Shout Bamalama Otis Redding
  4. I’ve Been Wrong For So Long Bobby Bland
  5. Backtracking Little Junior Parker
  6. That’s Cuz I Love You Louis Jones
  7. You Don’t Have To Cry Little Bob & The Lollipops
  8. Please Think It Over Roscoe Shelton
  9. If I Don’t See You Again Ted Taylor

Side Two

  1. Too Many Tears Roy Lee Johnson
  2. What Can I Do For You Elmore Morris
  3. You Don’t Miss Your Water William Bell
  4. I Cried Joe Medwick
  5. Blessed Are These Tears Joe Tex
  6. Best Of Luck Baby Earl Gaines
  7. My Love Belongs To You Sam & Dave
  8. I Don’t Hurt Anymore Fontella Bass
  9. Please, Please, Please James Brown


SKU: HS36 Categories: ,


The Golden Age of southern soul lasted from about 1964 to 1975, when disco ripped the heart out of it. And although it may seem as though the blend of country, gospel and R & B that emerged from the great studios in Memphis and Muscle Shoals in that decade was entirely fresh and new, like any other genre classic, southern soul picked up musical cues and absorbed influences from a whole variety of sources: horn lines from Louisiana’s swamp pop, lyrical themes from the blues, songs from country music, and of course so, so much from the black churches.

Part of the ‘History of Soul’ series, this LP reveals the musical antecedents that gave southern soul its inspiration. The music here will tell you the real story – and it will knock your socks off too! Notes by John Ridley.