Out of stock


Side ONE
1. Barefootin’ (Parker)**
2. Don’t Fight It (Pickett/Cropper)**
3. Treat Her Right (Head)+
4. In The Midnight Hour (Pickett/Cropper)+
5. Shake (Cooke)*
6. Can I Get A Witness (Holland/Dozier/Holland)+
7. Big Boss Man (Smith/Dixon)**
8. Land Of 1000 Dances (Kenner/Domino)**

Side TWO
1. Money Honey (Stone)**
2. Stupidity (Solomon Burke)*
3. I Got To Find My Baby (Berry)**
4. Do It Right (Clarke)**
5. Whatcha Gonna Do (Willis)+
6. What´d I Say (Charles)*
7. Sticks And Stones (Turner)*
8. Good News (Cooke)**

+ 1965; * 1966; ** 1967


Out of stock

SKU: R&B46 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , , ,


This is the album that Tom Jones would like to have made but never did. A regular visitor to the BBC studios throughout the 60s, the sessions he cut there reflect his personal preference for covering Stax, Atlantic and Motown material. For this LP, we have picked out Tom’s finest soulful performances of songs made famous by, amongst others, Solomon Burke, Wilson Pickett, Ray Charles and Jimmy Reed. Side One opens up with probably the best British R&B version of ‘Barefootin’ you’ll ever hear, and the final track on Side Two, Sam Cooke’s ‘Good News’, is Big Band Soul at its very best. In between are many undiscovered gems; with the exception of ‘Shake’, ‘Dances’ and ‘Whatcha Gonna Do’, you won’t find these songs on Tom’s Decca albums. His backing band the Squires could rock with the best of them and could give Cliff Bennett’s Rebel Rousers a good run for their money. If you’re a die hard fan, you’ll be surprised. If you never thought about buying a Tom Jones album before, then think again!

Additional information

Weight0.25 kg
Dimensions35 × 35 × 0.4 cm