THE RONNIE SCOTT QUARTET – BBC JAZZ CLUB SESSIONS 1964-1966 CD (shipped without jewel case)

THE RONNIE SCOTT QUARTET – BBC JAZZ CLUB SESSIONS 1964-1966 CD (shipped without jewel case)

Original price was: £8.00.Current price is: £4.00.

  1. Sweet and Lovely
  2. Sweet Lotus Blossom
  3. You Are My Heart’s Delight

Ronnie Scott (ts); Stan Tracey (p); Rick Laird (b); Ronnie Stephenson (d)

BBC Jazz Club, London, February 8th 1965


  1. Close Your Eyes
  2. Waltz for Debby*
  3. Music That Makes Me Dance/When She Makes Music*
  4. The Night Is Young
  5. I’ll Be Seeing You

Ronnie Scott (ts); Stan Tracey (p); Freddy Logan (b); Bill Eyden (d);

Mark Murphy (vocal*)

BBC Jazz Club, London, April 17th 1966


  1. Close Your Eyes
  2. What’s New?
  3. Avalon

Ronnie Scott (ts); Stan Tracey (p); Malcolm Cecil (b); Jackie Dougan (d)

Free Trade Hall, Manchester, June 6th 1964


SKU: RANDB063-1 Categories: , , Tags: , ,


Everyone knows that the 1960s, the decade in which London swung as never before, were the Golden Era of Ronnie Scott’s club, the tiny bolthole of a basement that had swiftly gone from a strictly parochial phenomenon to an international marker on the jazz map.  What’s less well-known, largely thanks to his own diffidence about recording, is that this was also the time in which Scott the player hit his peak.

These previously unreleased sessions from 1964-66 find him helming his own quartet – a band praised by critics of the time as a ‘powerful combo’ creating ‘full-blooded, exciting’ jazz – in three distinct t settings; live in Manchester (supporting jazz superstars the Dave Brubeck Quartet); in the studio; and accompanying a very special guest, the iconic American jazz vocalist Mark Murphy. Rarely has Scott been heard to better advantage, his playing throughout these sets bringing his legend back to vivid, hard-swinging and passionately communicative life.


Produced as CD-R (professionally manufactured recordable CD printed for short run) as opposed to CD-P (professionally manufactured pressed CDs made in quantities of 500+).

Comes with original printed CD inner plus booklet annotated by Simon Spillett.

All CDs whether CD-R or CD-P are 100% guaranteed error free. Discs will always be replaced if any problems are encountered.


Additional information

Weight0.125 kg