Out of stock

When the “5” Royales joined King in the spring of 1954 they were coming off a run of hits for Apollo that had made them the most successful R & B group in the US. The cuts represent artistically the most successful period of this great group’s long career; it was during this time that they developed their classic style, merging secular and sacred musical influences into a coherent whole, and in the process, laying down the future guidelines of soul music. The music on these CDs contains some of the very best R&B ever recorded – and it still hits both the feet and the heart over 50 years after it was laid down.

Volume Two brings together all the singles they recorded for Ohio-based King Records during their six year stay from 1954 to 1960 together with several alternate takes and songs that remained unissued at the time. We’re particularly pleased to include the legendary Good Looking Woman, which has never been heard since the New York session in 1954 when it was recorded.


Out of stock

SKU: SOUL015 Category: Tags: , ,


Disc One King A sides          

  1. I’m Gonna Run It Down
  2. Monkey Hips And Rice
  3. One Mistake
  4. You Didn’t Learn It At Home
  5. Mohawk Squaw
  6. Good Looking Woman
  7. I Need Your Lovin’ Baby
  8. Do Unto You
  9. Someone Made You For Me
  10. Right Around The Corner
  11. My Wants For Love
  12. Come On And Save Me
  13. Just As I Am
  14. Tears Of Joy
  15. Think
  16. Messin’ Up
  17. Dedicated To The One I Love
  18. The Feeling Is Real
  19. Tell The Truth
  20. Don’t Let It Be In Vain
  21. The Real Thing
  22. I Know It’s Hard But It’s Fair
  23. Wonder Where Your Love Has Gone (45rpm fade)
  24. It Hurts Inside
  25. I’m With You (45rpm fade)
  26. (Something Moves Me) Within My Heart
  27. Get Something Out Of It (Take 1, 2 & 3)
  28. Stompenin’ Stomp
  29. Just As I Am (Take 1, 2, 3 & 4)
  30. Obadiah Carter Speaks

Disc Two King B sides

  1. Behave Yourself
  2. Devil With the Rest
  3. School Girl
  4. Every Dog Has His Day
  5. How I Wonder
  6. I Can’t Stand Losing You
  7. When I Get Like This
  8. Women About To Make Me Go Crazy
  9. I Ain’t Getting Caught
  10. When You Walked Through The Door
  11. I Could Love You
  12. Get Something Out Of It
  13. Mine Forevermore
  14. Thirty Second Lover
  15. I’d Better Make A Move
  16. Say It
  17. Don’t Be Ashamed
  18. Do The Cha Cha Cherry
  19. Double Or Nothing
  20. The Slummer The Slum
  21. Your Only Love
  22. Miracle Of Love
  23. Tell Me You Care
  24. My Sugar Sugar
  25. Don’t Give No More Than You Can Take
  26. Why
  27. Come On And Save Me (Take 3, 4 & 5)
  28. Don’t Let It Be In Vain (Take 2)
  29. Wonder Where Your Love Has Gone (fluffed ending)
  30. I’m With You (extended)

Additional information

Weight0.125 kg