Out of stock

In 1965, there were two types of group in the UK: those influenced strongly by the Beatles, and those whose raison d’être was American blues and R&B. In part this split would have come about because of the pioneering blues work from Alexis Korner and Cyril Davies, who were both London based. Newcastle’s Animals and Belfast’s Them were the two biggest exceptions.

Among the highlights of this CD set are the Animals’ contributions to a Granada TV show “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On”. Check out the clip on the net – the camera sweeps across and Eric kicks into the a cappella intro to “Talkin’ ‘Bout You” supported only by hand clapping; there’s a flourish from Alan Price’s Vox and they’re off.

Elsewhere the boys conjure up images of people like Pinetop Perkins via Ray Charles’ early classic “Mess Around”; they give us their take on the much recorded “See See Rider” which doesn’t owe a debt to anyone; and they deliver a swinging ”I Got To Find My Baby” with plenty of ad hoc extras from Eric. Several of those great hit singles (plus a flip plus some LP tracks) are here too, all benefitting from full “road testing”; Hooker’s “Boom Boom” is a stand -out with mood switching between intimacy and all out rocking.

Round about the time the Animals‘ first single was released, I saw the band perform in one of those Central London clubs you have to go downstairs to reach. They were the toughest of the British R&B Groups. They were the real thing. Dave Stephens


Produced as CD-R (professionally manufactured recordable CD printed for short run) as opposed to CD-P (professionally manufactured pressed CDs made in quantities of 500+).

All CDs whether CD-R or CD-P are 100% guaranteed error free. Discs will always be replaced if any problems are encountered.

24-page booklet included

Out of stock

SKU: RANDB057-2 Category: Tags: , , ,


Disc One
BBC Sessions 1965-1966
1. Gonna Send You Back To Walker
2. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood 1
3. Dimples
4. Mess Around
5. Bring It On Home To Me 1
6. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
7. What Am I Living For 1
8. See See Rider 1
9. I Got To Find My Baby
10. Bring It On Home To Me 2
11. Ain’t That A Shame
12. Drown In My Own Tears
13. We’ve Gotta Get Out Of This Place 1
14. Squeeze Her, Tease Her
15. Work Song
16. Heartbreak Hotel
17. Rosie
18. We’ve Gotta Get Out Of This Place 2
19. In The Wee Wee Hours
20. Corina Corina
21. I Can’t Believe It
22. It’s My Life 1
23. Baby What’s Wrong
24. Maudie 1
25. Inside Looking Out 1
26. Sweet Little Sixteen
27. She’ll Return It
28. Eric Burdon Interview

Disc Two
BBC – ITV – RTL 1964-1966
1. One Monkey Don’t Stop No Show 1
2. Talkin’ ‘Bout You 1
3. Shout
4. Around & Around
5. Boom Boom
6. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood 2
7. Talkin’ ‘Bout You 2
8. We’ve Gotta Get Out Of This Place 3
9. I’m Gonna Change The World
10. Lucille
11. Boom Boom
12. What Am I Living For 2
13. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood 3
14. It’s My Life 2
15. We’ve Gotta Get Out Of This Place 4
16. That´s All I Am To You
17. One Monkey Don´t Stop No Show 2
18. See See Rider 2
19. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood 4
20. Maudie 2
21. Inside Looking Out 2
22. Hold On
23. Shake
24. Alan Price Interview
25. Eric Burdon Interview
26. Eric Burdon Interview
27. Chas Chandler Interview
28. Eric Burdon Interview
29. John Steel Interview

Additional information

Weight0.125 kg