Soho Scene ’66 (Two) LP

Soho Scene ’66 (Two) LP


Out of stock

Jazz Goes Mod

Side One
1. The Men From Auntie Humphrey Lyttelton Big Band
2. What’s Her Name? Ian Hamer Sextet
3. Cox’s Pippin Mike Carr Trio
4. M1 Laurie Johnson Orchestra
5. Change of Setting Tubby Hayes Quartet
6. Themes From Alfie  Sonny Rollins, Ronnie Scott, Stan Tracey, Rick Laird, Phil Seame

Side Two
1. Daily Double Charlie Earland Jr.
2. Cold Jam for Breakfast  Jimmy Coe
3. Unhlanhla Hugh Masekela
4. Boo-D-Doo Richard “Groove” Holmes
5. Lonely Avenue   Freddie McCoy
6. Mohair Sam The Three Sounds
7. In The Name Of Love Kenny Rankin


Out of stock

SKU: R&B56 Categories: , , Tags: , , , , , ,


This album contains twelve tracks you’d have heard in some smoke-filled Soho basement back in ‘66. Featured amongst the British acts, are the swinging ‘What’s Her Name’ by the Ian Hamer Sextet, where the trumpeter is joined by Tubby Hayes, Dick Morrissey and Alan Skidmore. You also get furious fingers hammering those ivories on ‘Cox’s Pippin’ courtesy of the Mike Carr Trio. From over the other side of the pond, we bring you the legendary organist Richard ‘Groove Holmes with ‘Boo-D-Doo’, a track that just cooks all the way through, and gives you a clue as to how he got his nickname. The final track is a fantastic vocal from Kenny Rankin, ‘In the Name of Love’. He re-recorded it in ‘74, but it’s that ’66 sound that makes this track groove.

So, put this album on, close your eyes, and let the music transport you back in time…

Additional information

Weight0.25 kg
Dimensions35 × 35 × 0.4 cm