Memphis Soul ‘68 LP HS28

Memphis Soul ‘68 LP HS28


1 in stock

Side One

  1. You Don’t Move Me No More Roscoe Robinson
  2. No Cure For The Blues Lamp Sisters
  3. Out Of Control L H & The Memphis Sounds
  4. Climbing Up To Love Marvin Preyer
  5. A Love That Never Grows Cold Oscar Toney Jr
  6. The Same Things That Make You Laugh (Make You Cry) Lee Rogers
  7. Your Eyes May Shine Shortkuts featuring Eddie Harrison
  8. Tumblin’ Down James Fry

Side Two

  1. Looking Back Joe Simon
  2. Half A Man L C Cooke
  3. Sweet Lovin’ Woman Masqueraders
  4. Dancing Man Bart Jackson
  5. Foolish Hearts Break Fast Homer Banks
  6. I Can’t Use You Double Soul
  7. I Don’t Want To Have To Wait Terry Felton

8. You’re Gonna Need Me Ted Ford

1 in stock

SKU: HS28 Categories: ,


Most southern soul fans will tell you that that the music produced in Memphis in 1967 and 1968 was the pinnacle of quality. So following on from our look at the River City’s soul output in 1967, we now turn our attention to an album covering the next year. As before, the singers here are a heady mixture of local Tennessee talent and welcome soulful guests who journeyed down south hoping that a little of the famous Memphis magic would rub off on their songs. There are soul genres to suit all tastes here – from the deepest ballads to upbeat tracks that will rock your socks off. Soul doesn’t get much better than the artists and their tunes on this LP!

Sleeve Notes by John Ridley