Dick Morrissey Quartet There and Then and Sounding Great BBC Sessions ’67 CD

Dick Morrissey Quartet There and Then and Sounding Great BBC Sessions ’67 CD

Original price was: £10.00.Current price is: £6.00.

  1. Sunday Lunch
  2. Off The Wagon
  3. Inner Urge
  4. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  5. Le Roi

BBC Paris Theatre, London, June 11th 1967

  1. The Whims of Chambers
  2. Le Roi
  3. My Ship
  4. Inner Urge
  5. No Room For Squares
  6. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  7. Don’t Fall Off The Bridge

BBC Playhouse Theatre, London, October 18th 1967

Dick Morrissey (tenor saxophone); Harry South (piano);

Phil Bates (bass): Bill Eyden (drums)

Introduced by Humphrey Lyttelton

SKU: RANDB074 Categories: , ,


Morrissey’s fine playing makes this a set worth exploring. Scott Yanow LA Jazz Scene

Straight ahead jazz of great character and vision. Simon Spillett

More rescued BBC broadcasts and more reasons to applaud this label, which has become something of a home from home for retrieved British jazz of the 60s. Peter Vacher Jazzwise

Long before he carved his dual legend as both popular jazz-funkster and the ultimate peripatetic guest soloist, beloved by fusion and straight-ahead fans alike, tenor saxophonist Dick Morrissey had been one of the UK’s brightest and best modern jazzmen. During the 1960s his regular quartet explored very nearly every aspect of the jazz genre, from down home blues to the fringes of the avant-garde, as is displayed in these previously unreleased radio recordings from 1967. Over two fascinating sets drawing in compositions by fellow tenors Hank Mobley, Joe Henderson and Tubby Hayes, Morrissey is heard at his most daring, playing with a commitment and abandon that is frequently revelatory and always electrifying.