Aretha Franklin Live in Cologne May ‘68 LP

Aretha Franklin Live in Cologne May ‘68 LP



  1. You Are My Sunshine
  2. Satisfaction
  3. Night Life
  4. A Natural Woman
  5. Baby I Love You
  6. Feelgood
  7. Since You’ve Been Gone



  1. Good To Me As I Am To You
  2. I Never Loved A Man
  3. Chain Of Fools
  4. Soul Serenade
  5. Respect
  6. Play Out


SKU: HS35 Categories: ,


When Aretha Franklin passed away on August 16, 2018 we lost the Queen of Soul, acknowledged as the foremost female singer of her generation, someone who sold over 75 million records in her glittering career. The sadness that so many soul fans felt at that time was most acute knowing that we would never hear her beautiful voice on any new recordings. So it is with great pleasure that we present a live set from Aretha never before heard on a commercial CD. And it is with pride that we can say that the recordings, made in a TV studio in Cologne during her first European tour in 1968, are smack in the middle of soul’s Golden Age. This is prime Aretha Franklin – and soul music doesn’t get much better than this.


You Are My Sunshine… is an extraordinary performance of true vocal greatness – but then again, the same could be said for every track on the album.

Trevor Hodgett Blues In Britain