Michael Garrick Sextet: A New Serious Music CD

Michael Garrick Sextet: A New Serious Music CD


2 in stock

Pianist Michael Garrick was among the most boldly ambitious British jazz figures of the late-1960s, tirelessly pioneering various new fusions uniting his first love – straight-ahead jazz – with Indian music, liturgy and poetry. Featuring two previously unreleased sessions taped in 1967 and 1969, this album charts the course of his music from post-bop convention towards an indisputably ‘English’ jazz sound. Containing provocative live versions of several well-known Garrick compositions and an all-star cast, it truly captures the era in which UK jazz began to loosen its collar and let down its hair.


2 in stock

SKU: RANDB076 Categories: , ,


  1. Good Times
  2. Rustat’s Gravesong
  3. Rest
  4. Beautiful Thing
  5. Anthem

BBC Paris Studios, July 17th 1967

  1. Cascade
  2. Face In A Crowd
  3. On Track
  4. You Are Winter
  5. Childrens’ Chorus
  6. Thanksgiving Dance

BBC Radio One 19th October 1969


Michael Garrick, p; Henry Lowther (1-5), cor, vn; Jim Philip (1-5), ts, cl, fl; Ian Carr (6-11), tp, fh; Don Rendell (6-11), ts, ss, a-fl; Art Themen, ts, cl, fl;  Coleridge Goode, bs; Trevor Tomkins, d; Norma Winstone (6-11), v;